The IPL is all set to start in UAE from 19th September

Here is a good news to cricket crazy fans, The Indian Premier League 2020 (IPL 2020) is all set to start in UAE on 19th September. The international cricket boards have started giving no objection certificates (NOC’s) to its cricketers for participating in the Indian league. The New Zealand Cricket and Cricket South Africa both have announced NOC’s for its cricketers. But despite of that 10 cricketers from South Africa including AB de Villiers (RCB), Quinton De Kock (MI) stands doubtful for IPL 2020.

“Under the circumstances, participation of the South African cricketers will only be dependent on the resumption of the flights or on some special arrangements by the BCCI or the IPL franchises.”

Reason – due to Covid19, currently South Africa is under strict lockdown and no international take-offs are allowed since the last few months. As the Coronavirus cases are constantly growing in the African nation, no one knows when the flight operations can start. Already the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), starting August 18, is faced with a few tricky issues on this account. With South African borders closed, there is no way the Proteas cricketers – Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Rilee Rossouw, Anrich Nortje and Colin Ingram, can reach Caribbean.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *