Loksabha voting in seven phase from 11 April to 19 May, Result on 23 May

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) comes into effect from today itself with announcement of loksabha election date in the entire country. Any violation will be dealt with in the strictest manner.

2019 general election will be held in seven phases. The first phase of voting will take place on April 11 while the last phase will be held on May 19. The results of the election will be announced on May 23.

Here is how the voting will take place:

  • Phase 1: April 11
  • Phase 2: April 18
  • Phase 3: April 23
  • Phase 4: April 29
  • Phase 5: May 6
  • Phase 6: May 12
  • Phase 7: May 19

In a 100-minute press conference in New Delhi, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that around 900 million — or 90 crore — people have been registered as voters for the 2019 general election. These include 1.5 crore new voters in the age group of 18 to 19.

The overall electorate of around 900 million is 84.3 million more than the number of people recognised as voters during the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Similarly, the number of polling stations will go up by around a lakh to 10 lakhs, the Election Commission said as it announced the Lok Sabha election dates.

Also, in a first, pictures of candidates will be displayed along with party name and party symbol on Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The Election Commission also announced that elections would also be held for four state assemblies: Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim.

Voting in those states would be held simultaneously with voting in the Lok Sabha 2019.


Related posts

Leave a Comment